Savoury Taco Cheesecake

The first time I ever tried a savoury cake was when I was like eight years old.

(Well, that’s if you’ll exclude the many savoury muffins I went through at dinnertime when I was little!)

It was a savoury cheesecake with an oatmeal crust (please remind me to create a vegan version of that because it was SOOOOOOO good!).Savoury Taco CheesecakeBut this savoury cake takes it straight to the next level, because this cake:

  1. Is completely raw
  2. Doesn’t use nuts in the filling to give it that oh-so-creamy texture
  3. Is taco-flavoured!

Savoury Taco CheesecakeYou should have seen me when I was taste-testing the filling before it went over the crust. I probably looked like one of those people in the cooking shows where they travel to different countries and taste food from different cuisines and they close their eyes and melt into the moment and say something like:

“MMMMMM! Mm-mm-mmmm. Now that is just wonderful!”Savoury Taco CheesecakeAnd yes, this is just wonderful.Savoury Taco CheesecakeNow, let’s take a look at what’s really inside this creamy-delicious-dreamland of a cake; starting with the base.

 

You want a nice fine, dough-like base for this cheesecake. To achieve this texture, I ground the walnuts, sunflower seeds and flax seeds first.

(I used a coffee grinder to do this! Soooo professional, right? But it totally works if you need to grind things in small amounts! Otherwise, you can just use a high-speed blender 🙂 )Savoury Taco CheesecakeThen you stir in the remaining ingredients.

 

(I’ll tantalise you for now, won’t I?

See, the remaining ingredients are:

  • coconut oil (okay not exciting but it is one of the ingredients…)
  • paprika
  • garlic
  • lemon juice

A simple but dynamic combo to get just enough flavour into the base without distracting the tastebuds from the star: the filling!)Savoury Taco CheesecakeSpeaking of the filling – it’s honestly that darn good. I’m not kidding. I’m seriously not kidding because I’m serious about the pleasure sensed by my tastebuds and this cake filling brought my standards up just that little bit higher on the flavour-seriousness scale.

 

So you know, I’m for real. This cake is for real.Savoury Taco CheesecakeOh – but only if you let it sit outside of the freezer for at least half an hour to soften. If you don’t, your cheesecake won’t be a cheesecake. It’ll be an ice block.Savoury Taco CheesecakeWhich is probably not the vibe we’re goin’ for here.

You want that silky smooth, creamy texture of a filling sitting on top of a firm dough-like base if you want a cheesecake.Savoury Taco CheesecakeI guess you could bake the base if you’re not the dough-lovin’ type – just chuck it in the oven for 10 minutes or so and it should turn out crispy.

 

(That was just something I dreamt up just now, so if you happen to try baking the base, let me know how it turns out in the comments below!)Savoury Taco CheesecakeI’m still dreaming of this cake even now – like it’s so unfair it all went so quick.

I mean, it does make enough for eight small slices buuutttt, if you’re super Mexican-obsessed like me, you can chow down on the whole thing right then and there.Savoury Taco Cheesecake(Which is just what I did, if you haven’t already got the memo. On one hand, I wish it lasted longer… but then on the other, eating an entire Taco Cheesecake was totally awesome and brought me so much satisfaction. As you’d imagine it would.)Processed with VSCO with  presetOkay, enough of this blabber; you’ll all probably be drooling onto your keyboards or your phones or tablets or whatever by now, so I’ll give you the recipe to put you out of your anticipation-misery.Savoury Taco Cheesecake

SAVOURY TACO CHEESECAKE

Makes 10cm/4″ cake

FOR THE BASE

  • 1/4 cup walnuts
  • 2 tbsp sunflower seeds
  • 1 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1 tsp coconut oil, softened
  • 1/8 tsp smoked paprika
  • pinch garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp lemon juice

FOR THE CHEESECAKE FILLING

  • 1 cup cooked black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 tsp finely chopped jalapeño pepper
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped black olives
  • 2 tbsp canned coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/8 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 tsp chilli powder
  • 1/8 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, softened

 

BASE

  1. Lightly grease the base and sides of a 10cm/4″ round springform cake tin with coconut oil.
  2. Blend walnuts, sunflower seeds and flax seeds until finely ground (I used a coffee grinder, but you can use a high speed blender).
  3. Stir in remaining ingredients until well combined.
  4. Press the base evenly into the bottom of your prepared cake tin and set in the freezer while you work on the cheesecake filling.

CHEESECAKE FILLING

  1. Blend all ingredients in a high speed blender until smooth and creamy. Pour over the base and leave to set in the freezer for 2 hours.
  2. Remove from the freezer 30 minutes prior to serving to soften the cake so that it is creamy, not rock-solid.
  3. Now, eat!

 

Savoury Taco Cheesecake

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

