Chilean Guava, Peanut Butter and Rosewater Popsicles

It’s been so sunny these past couple of days.
Plus it’s almost the end of the school holidays 😒, so those are two good enough excuses to make popsicles.


Right?

Processed with VSCO with  preset

So yesterday, while making a Holiday Apron (yes, the one I was talking about in this post – if you don’t know what I mean I’d suggest you check out this post because, as much as I LOVE Christmas, I do not believe that it is Christmas right now in April), I snacked on a popsicle I’d prepared the previous day.

And it was DELICIOUS.

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Okay, so I know I’m always saying that “this is my new fave combo” and all that… like check out this Green Tea and Pomegranate Oatmeal with Walnuts, Figs and Dark Chocolate, these Raw Blueberry Walnut Tartlets with a Cinnamon Chia Seed Filling, this Pretty in Pink Blueberry, Pineapple and Parsley Detox Water, thisΒ Nutty Vegan Thai-Style Pineapple-Soy Savoury Oatmeal or even this Toast Party…. but this is my new fave combo. For real.
Like, as soon as I tasted the mixture, I swear I went to edible-perfume-heaven and back, only to return again yesterday when I ate the actual popsicle itself.

Because rosewater + Chilean guavas + peanut butter is THE best combo which tastes like a perfume made from velvety-soft rose petals and beautifully sweet-scented Chilean guavas and a touch of creamy peanut butter all tied together with a hint of vanilla.

(So it’s technically rosewater + Chilean guavas + peanut butter + VANILLA = THE best combo. It’s been a whole two weeks since my last maths lesson so I’m a bit rusty. Please forgive me πŸ˜‘)

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Now you may not have heard of Chilean guavas. And that’s okay, because I’d never heard of them until my sister bought a Chilean guava bush thinking it was a cranberry bush like five years ago.
Processed with VSCO with  preset

A Chilean guava is a small, round red berry.
And no, I do not live in Chile. I live in New Zealand. And another name for the Chilean guava is the NZ Cranberry – which is probably why my sister thought it was a cranberry.

But anyway, unlike cranberries, Chilean guavas are very sweet as opposed to sour (and they taste just like the scent of their beautiful flowers which are also edible – I use them as a garnish in my Peanut Butter and Jam Frozen Thing with a Cacao, Roasted Peanut and Ginger Crumb and Sour Berry CoulisΒ and my Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Pumpkin Pie Spice Mousse Bowl) so it’s not a wise idea to substitute the Chilean guavas in this recipe for cranberries. I’d suggest using a sweet fruit like pear in place of the Chilean guavas if you honestly can’t find them.

But seriously, this recipe is NOT the same without Chilean guavas!

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Now, back to my Holiday Apron making.

I never actually got any work done until I finished the popsicle (which kinda makes sense – I wouldn’t just put the popsicle down and start measuring fabric).
But as excited as I was to get onto this apron, I was still deeply saddened when my popsicle was nearing the end!

Processed with VSCO with  preset
Like how sad is that?
But you know, all good things must come to an end.

Just as well I have some more in the freezer!

Processed with VSCO with  preset

CHILEAN GUAVA, PEANUT BUTTER AND ROSEWATER POPSICLES

Makes about 6 small popsicles

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 3 tbsp unsalted tahini
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup Chilean guavas
  • 1/2 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosewater
  1. Blend all ingredients until smooth.
  2. Pour into moulds and freeze for 30 minutes.
  3. Remove from freezer, insert popsicle sticks and return to the freezer until set (3-4 hours).
  4. Remove* popsicles from their moulds and enjoy!

Notes

*If you have trouble removing the popsicles from their moulds, fill a large bowl with warm water and dip the moulds into the water until they are able to be removed.

chilean-guava-peanut-butter-and-rosewater-popsicles

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

One thought on “Chilean Guava, Peanut Butter and Rosewater Popsicles

Comments are closed.