“Goodbye Summer, Hello Autumn” Power Bowl (AKA Super Salad)

The graphics room at school was where this power bowl was drafted.

Yes, drafted.

You see, the assignment was to create the front cover for a comic book using perspective lettering. One of my friends made “Fantastic Frank” and another made “Gerry the Giraffe” but me, I did “Super Salad.”

Processed with VSCO

It was SO exciting.

I asked each of my friends to name something I should put in my salad.

They came up with:

And I just HAD to add:

So that’s how this power bowl was born.

I made it a few months later, and it turned out like this:

Processed with VSCO with  preset

A lot more crowded than the comic book cover, I know, but that’s what makes it SO much more yummy.

Because who really wants a pile of rice and not much veggies and dippy-stuff on their power bowl?

Not me.

Okay, now I’m just criticising my initial draft – but I guess that’s just what happens when you see another version of something that’s better.

Like books and movies. I know it’s cliché, but I was seriously SO annoyed when I saw the movie for Divergent. Like, the books were sooooo much better – people weren’t killed without you even knowing who they were in the book, unlike the movie. The movie didn’t even allow you to make connections… like bruh. That’s how you get attached to a movie!

Anywhooooo, moving on from that, let’s revel in this power bowl’s glory:

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Isn’t it just like a flower garden inside the perfect dreamland: lots of flowers, lots of green, with a touch of red-orange autumn leaves (or Christmas lights – yes, I like that comparison).

Processed with VSCO with  preset

(I’ve become so obsessed with Christmas lately, like I’m feeling the Christmas spirit even though last Christmas was only like four months ago and next Christmas is like 274 months away)

Processed with VSCO with  preset

(Okay not 274 months away but you know…

Here’s how I’ve become so obsessed with Christmas (I mean, like I’ve ALWAYS been obsessed with Christmas… but not this much considering it’s only April 😥 ) in the past couple of weeks:

  • First, I ordered a gorgeous Bowknot Jingle Bell Choker and the most awesome Jacquard Elk Horn Fleeced Hoodie (even though Christmas is in summer in New Zealand) from Zaful
  • Second, I made an oatmeal with the tea I got for Christmas and got all sentimental about it in this post
  • Third, my grandparents have been organising where we’re going to sit when they host Christmas this year (inside if it’s cold and rainy and windy and the usual weather conditions down here), outside under the maple tree if it’s sunny)
  • Fourth, my parents agreed to my request to hold a Midwinter Christmas at our house (something that sort-of happens in New Zealand, since our Christmas never sees the cold)
  • I’ve spent like ALL day searching for Christmas-themed gifts to make for the Midwinter Christmas
  • I started making a Holiday Apron this afternoon)

Processed with VSCO with  preset

AAAHHHH I’m just in LOVE with these colours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Processed with VSCO with  preset

“GOODBYE SUMMER, HELLO AUTUMN” POWER BOWL (AKA SUPER SALAD)

Serves 2

FOR THE BOWL

  • 2/3 cup brown rice, uncooked
  • 235g kabocha squash or your favourite squash or pumpkin (about 1/4 of a kabocha squash), deseeded* and sliced
  • 130g cherry tomatoes
  • extra virgin olive oil, for drizzling
  • pink Himalayan salt and freshly ground black pepper, to season

FOR THE CHILLI-LEMON CUCUMBER SALAD

  • 80g cucumber, finely diced
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes (less if you’re not a fan)

FOR THE CHILLI-GINGER TORTILLA CRISPS

  • 1/4 wholemeal tortilla, sliced into 4 equal triangles
  • chilli powder, for sprinkling
  • ground ginger, for sprinkling

FOR THE GUACAMOLE

  • 1/2 small avocado (about 60g)
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • garlic salt** and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

FOR THE WHIPPED COCONUT CREAM

  • 1/4 cup coconut cream (scooped from the top of a can of coconut milk refrigerated overnight)

TOPPING IDEAS

  • fresh parsley
  • edible flowers (I used violas, chive and borage flowers)

BOWL

  1. Preheat double oven*** – set one to 200°C/400°F and the other to 220°C/425°CF. Lightly grease two baking trays.
  2. Cook the brown rice according to packet instructions.
  3. Place sliced squash pumpkin and cherry tomatoes on one of your prepared baking trays, dirzzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  4. Place in the 200°C/425°F oven to roast for 10 minutes, then remove the cherry tomatoes and place the squash back in the oven for an additional 10-15 minutes.

CHILLI-LEMON CUCUMBER SALAD

  1. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl. Set aside in the refrigerator.

CHILLI-GINGER TORTILLA CRISPS

  1. Place tortilla triangles on your remaining prepared baking tray. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with as much chilli and ginger as you like. Bake at 220°C/425°F for 7 minutes, until lightly browned and crisp.

GUACAMOLE

  1. Mash the avocado with a fork until smooth. Stir through remaining ingredients to combine. Set aside in the refrigerator.

WHIPPED COCONUT CREAM

  1. Place the coconut cream in the bowl of a stand mixer and whisk for 3-5 minutes, or until thick. Alternatively, use electric hand beaters.

TO ASSEMBLE

  1. Divide the cooked brown rice between two bowls. Top with roasted squash, roasted cherry tomatoes, Chilli-Lemon Cucumber Salad, Chilli-Ginger Tortilla Crisps, Guacamole and Whipped Coconut Cream. Top with parsley and edible flowers.
  2. Eat up!

Notes

*When deseeded, the squash should weight about 205g

**If you don’t have garlic salt, you can alternatively season with salt and dried garlic flakes or power, or finely chopped garlic

***If you don’t have a double oven, just turn up the temperature for the tortilla crisps once the squash has cooked and keep the squash warm until ready to serve

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on ““Goodbye Summer, Hello Autumn” Power Bowl (AKA Super Salad)

Comments are closed.