Green Tea and Pomegranate Oatmeal with Walnuts, Figs and Dark Chocolate

Guess what I got in my Christmas stocking last year?

(Yes, I still hang my Christmas stocking on the edge of the fireplace, and yes, I do get presents from Santa (aka Mr & Mrs Moore))

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

But you’ll never guess what I found in my Christmas stocking for 2016!

(By the way, mine is the snowman one!!)

Drumroll please….

I created this recipe with the aim of using these teabags in a completely new way…

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Oatmeal!

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Green tea pairs so well with dark chocolate, so to amp up this winter-themed flavour combo, I just needed to add some dried figsΒ leftover from a savoury cake I made for Christmas, and some walnuts from my auntie and uncle’s tree, who hosted Christmas last year.

So yeah, this oatmeal has a bit of a story behind it. And you can feel these sentimental vibes just by making and eating this oatmeal…

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Now of course, you can use any tea you like. I can imagine earl grey working SUPER well with these flavours!

But since I just LOVE this pomegranate green tea, that’s what I’ve used and if Red Seal tea is available to you, I suggest you try it!

Now into more detail:

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

This oatmeal ain’t what you were thinking. It’s not ofΒ the make-tea-then-add-it-to-oats kind.

This oatmeal is cooked with the teabag IN the saucepan as you cook them, to really give that flavour boost!

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Talk about DELICIOUS.

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Like who doesn’t like chocolate melting all through their oatmeal that has a teabag in it and a flower garden on top of it? I don’t know who.

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Even Jake‘s licking his lips. And he don’t even eat oats.

Processed with VSCO with  preset

“Aaaallllllmost there….”

Nope, sorry buddy. It’s all mine.

And it can be yours, too! Just scroll down and you’ll see how… 😍

Processed with VSCO with  preset

GREEN TEA AND POMEGRANATE OATMEAL WITH WALNUTS, FIGS AND DARK CHOCOLATE

Serves 1

FOR THE OATMEAL

  • 1 Red Seal Green Tea & Pomegranate teabag
  • 1Β cup boiling water
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 2 dried figs, chopped
  • 1/2 cup plant-based milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp coconut sugar
  • 1 square dark chocolate (most >70% dark chocolates are vegan – check ingredients to be sure :D)
  • 2 walnuts, chopped

TOPPING IDEAS

  • chia seeds
  • coconut sugar
  • edible flowers (I used violas and borage flowers)
  • dried figs
  • walnuts
  • dark chocolate
  1. Place teabag in a small saucepan. Pour over 1 cup of boiling water and heat over medium for 2 minutes.
  2. Stir in rolled oats, dried figs and plant milk and simmer over medium heat for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent the oatmeal from sticking to the bottom of the pan.
  3. Remove from heat. Stir through vanilla extract, coconut sugar, dark chocolate and walnuts.
  4. Pour into a bowl and top with chia seeds, coconut sugar, edible flowers, dried figs, walnuts and dark chocolate.
  5. Enjoy!

I hope you savour every last warm bite of this delicious oatmeal! πŸ˜€

Processed with VSCO with  preset

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

11 thoughts on “Green Tea and Pomegranate Oatmeal with Walnuts, Figs and Dark Chocolate

  1. Love this, I make big batches of tea and keep it in the fridge for cooking oatmeal with, kind of like tea stock😁I’ve never had pomegranate tea and I need to!! I love the fig chocolate combo!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! And yes, any flavoured waters are such a favourite oatmeal addition of mine! πŸ˜€

      Like

Comments are closed.