Vegan Stovetop-Cake Chocolate Walnut Brownie for One

 

Behold… the stovetop-cake brownie!

I know you haven’t heard of Mr. Stovetop-Cake before. I hadn’t either, until I invented it.

Obviously.

IMG_20170127_092016_789

Buuuuut, what makes this cake a stovetop-cake?

You cook it on the stovetop. Like oatmeal. And then you bake it. Like a cake.

So I could have named it an oatmeal cake… except that’s where it’s different.

Processed with VSCO

I took inspiration from this Coconut Flour “Oatmeal”, and thought “what if I baked that?”

And then I came up with a mixture for chocolate oatmeal, but used oat flour in place of the oats, then baked it!

Processed with VSCO

Well, it turned out soooooooooooooo fudgey and moist and delicious and dangerously addictive – so just as well it’s only a single-serve cake!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

(If it made a whole brownie-tin full of them I would’ve scoffed quite a few right then and there. I’m sure you’ll agree with me – I mean come on! Just look at that gooey deliciousness… while excusing the random attention-seeking bag of red onions)

 Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

VEGAN STOVE-TOP CAKE CHOCOLATE WALNUT BROWNIE FOR ONE

Serves 1

  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1/4 cup oat flour
  • 4 tsp cacao powder
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2-3 tsp coconut sugar (depending on your tastes)
  • pinch ground pink Himalayan salt
  • 2 walnuts, chopped coarsely
  1. Preheat oven to 140°C. Lightly grease a ramekin.

  2. Heat soy milk and oat flour in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir until no lumps remain. Bring to the boil, then remove from the heat.

  3. Add cacao, maple syrup, vanilla extract, coconut sugar and salt. Stir until smooth, then fold in walnuts.

  4. Pour into your prepared ramekin and bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the centre of the brownie comes out with only a small amount of residue (it should be fudgey but not runny or mousse-like. It will firm up a little as it cools).

  5. Remove from oven and let stand for 10 minutes (I know it’s hard!), then remove from ramekin and EAT!

IMG_20170127_092016_789

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Vegan Stovetop-Cake Chocolate Walnut Brownie for One

Comments are closed.