Nutty Vegan Thai-Style Pineapple-Soy Savoury Oatmeal

 

The pineapple sitting in the fridge was calling me… (wait, what sound would a pineapple make? Like a “squidge, squidge” or something? I don’t know. But anyway, it was calling me).

 So this is what happens when you’re going through a Thai-food-phase:

The pineapple in the fridge gets paired with ginger, soy, peanut butter, coriander, alfalfa and coconut. And oats. Well, oatmeal, to be precise.

 IMG_20170115_132223_869

My uncle discovered the savoury oatmeal a little while ago, and he became OBSESSED. He asked me if I’d ever made a recipe for it.

These two things crossed my mind:

  • I have made one before, but it was this random chuck-together thing that I made out of my freezing-ness in the middle of winter with misfit veggies in the fridge
  • haven’t actually created a recipe for savoury oatmeal yet!!! 😮

 

So this one, instead of being a hasty pile of slop in the middle of winter, was created in the middle of summer, when there are pineapples and lots of other yummy fruits and veggies. But shock-horror: the only fruit/vegetable in this recipe is pineapple (if you’ll excuse the alfalfa sprouts, ginger, coconut yoghurt and coriander…)!

But that doesn’t mean it’s not super-delicious.

I reapeat: That does NOT mean it’s not super-delicious.

If you don’t believe me, here’s a fact: I only managed to take one photo before completely gobbling the whole thing up *sad face*. That’s how good it is.

Enough said – here’s the recipe!

NUTTY VEGAN THAI-STYLE PINEAPPLE-SOY SAVOURY OATMEAL

Serves 2

 FOR THE OATMEAL

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup water + 2 tbsp
  • 1/2 cup plant-based milk of choice + 1/4 cup
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp coconut sugar
  • 2 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 85g pineapple, chopped
  • handful sultanas (optional)
  • 1/4 cup chopped roasted peanuts
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp ground ginger (depending on your tastes)

TO SERVE

  • 1/4 cup alfalfa sprouts
  • 1/4 cup coconut yoghurt
  • 2 tbsp chopped nuts
  • a few sprigs of coriander

 

  1. Place oats in a medium saucepan along with 1/4 cup water and 1/2 cup plant-based milk. Bring to the boil over high heat, then turn down to medium. Simmer for 5 minutes.

  2. Stir through soy sauce, coconut sugar and peanut butter.

  3. Stir through 2 tbsp plant-based milk until absorbed, then stir through an additional 2 tbsp.

  4. Fold through pineapple and sultanas (if using). Remove from the heat.

  5. Stir through chopped roasted peanuts, ground ginger and 2 tbsp water.

  6. Divide between bowls, top with alfalfa sprouts, coconut yoghurt and mixed nuts. Garnish with coriander.

 

Enjoy! xx

IMG_20170115_132223_869

Follow my blog with Bloglovin