Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Pumpkin Pie Spice Mousse Bowl

 

Funny story:

When I was little, my Nana threw a big birthday buffet lunch with the whole family. I remember my auntie burnt her finger with the lighter when she tried to light the candles on the cake and that put me off lighting candles until, well, even now.

BUT ANYWAY, I’m getting side-tracked.

IMG_20161229_095346_003

The thing is, I’d never tried mousse until this day. I remember seeing a bowl of something brown, something smooth and chocolatey-looking on the dessert table, with a little card in front of it that said “mousse“.

I was so unsure of what this thing that evidently was a bowl of “mouse” was, so I just passed on that one. When I returned to the table, I sat next to my mum and asked her what the big bowl of mouse was all about.

Then she told me that it wasn’t mouse, it was mousse.

Moose? I knew I’d heard that word before. I knew it was an animal. Gees, was this an animal-themed party or something?

I was so confused.

But my mum told me that this “moose”/”mousse” thing was delicious, so I went up and got some. Aaaaaaand it turned out to be DELICOUS!

 

Though for a while after that, I never quite understood this dessert.

 

You see, Gran has this Christmas stuffed animal that she calls “chocolate moose”- it’s a fluffy moose that smells like chocolate. She puts it on display for the holiday season, and I’ve always loved this moose:

 

  1. For the smell

  2. For the fact that it’s a plush animal toy

  3. For the fact that it’s fluffy

  4. For the fact that it’s a trademark Gran & Pop Christmas decoration

And this is what confused me about chocolate mousse for the rest of my childhood years – chocolate moose or chocolate mousse?

 

But at least I understand now. That would be sooooo embarrassing if I didn’t even know the difference between a cute fluffy animal and a dessert.

😮

 

Now sometimes, just SOMETIMES, you crave something more for breakfast than oatmeal or a smoothie (no hard feelings though – oatmeal is seriously one of my fave foods right now and smoothies, oh smoothies…).

 

Right?

So how about some mousse for breakfast?

Right.

Here it is.

VEGAN PEANUT BUTTER BANANA PUMPKIN PIE SPICE MOUSSE BOWL

Serves 2-3

FOR THE MOUSSE

  • 1 medium banana
  • flesh of 1 avocado
  • 1 tsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 3 tbsp natural peanut butter
  • 4 dates, covered with water and soaked (or microwaved for 1 minute) + 2 tbsp of the soaking water
  • 2-3 tsp pumpkin pie spice (to suit your taste) (or use any spices or spice mixes to suit the season – gingerbread spice, carrot cake spice, ginger and turmeric, etc.)
  • 1/8 cup roasted peanuts

TOPPING IDEAS

  • blueberries
  • roasted sweet potato
  • sliced banana
  • roasted peanuts
  • buckwheat groats
  • flaxseeds (linseeds)
  • edible flowers
  • more pumpkin pie spice
  • more peanut butter

 

  1. For the Mousse: Blitz everything except your together in a high-speed blender until smooth.

  2. Divide between bowls and decorate with your toppings.

  3. Serve, and devour!

IMG_20161229_095346_003

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Pumpkin Pie Spice Mousse Bowl

Comments are closed.